1. Home
  2. SIC Clients
  3. Eastern New Mexico University

Eastern New Mexico University

The Eastern New Mexico University (ENMU) educational system is composed of three campuses. The four-year parent campus in Portales opened in 1934. The two-year campus, ENMU-Roswell, was established in 1958. The ENMU-Ruidoso Instruction Center opened in 1991 and became a branch campus in 2005. The North Central Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools separately accredits each campus.

In 1927, the New Mexico Legislature designated Portales as the location for ENMU and made the first appropriation for buildings in 1929. The University operated as a two-year junior college from the 1934 opening until 1940 when the upper-division curriculum was added. The North Central Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools awarded accreditation as a four-year liberal arts institution in 1946-47 and master’s level graduate work began with accreditation in 1949.

The Portales campus offers associates, bachelors, and masters degrees to students from all 50 states and around the world by traditional classes as well as classes by instructional television and through the Internet. There are 53 undergraduate major areas of study offered through four colleges and 14 majors in the graduate school.

The Portales campus operating budget is approximately $60 million, and there are about 645 employees including 271 faculty members. More than 32,750 students have graduated from ENMU in its 74-year history. Total enrollment in the fall of 2004 at the three-campus system was 8,187. ENMU began investing with the SIO in January 1999.